## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C6-92-2065

APPOINTMENTS TO THE ADVISORY TASK FORCE ON THE JUVENILE JUSTICE SYSTEM

ORDER

WHEREAS, Minnesota Laws Chapter 571, Article 7, Section 13 directs this Court to convene a twenty-member advisory task force to study the juvenile justice system; and

WHEREAS, the statute sets out the composition of the membership of the advisory task force and the appointing authorities.

NOW, THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED that:

1. The following judges are appointed to the advisory task force:

Justice Sandra S. Gardebring Minnesota Supreme Court Judge Leslie M. Metzen First Judicial District

Judge Philip D. Bush Fourth Judicial District

Judge Larry G. Jorgenson Ninth Judicial District

2. The following legislators, appointed by the Senate and House of Representatives, shall serve on the advisory task force:

Senator Randy C. Kelly St. Paul, MN

Senator Patrick D. McGowan

Maple Grove, MN

Representative Ann H. Rest New Hope, MN

Representative Bill Macklin

Lakeville, MN

- 3. Barry C. Feld, Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School and Angela McCaffrey, Director of the General Practice Clinic, Hamline University School of Law are appointed to the advisory task force.
- 4. Karel Moesfelder, assistant Hennepin County Attorney, is appointed to the advisory task force on the recommendation of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association.
- 5. Roxanne Bartsh, Director of Court Services, Wabasha County and James Hayes, Juvenile Division Director, Ramsey County Community Corrections Department, appointed by Governor Arne Carlson, shall serve on the advisory task force.

- 6. DeeWayne Rognstad, Deputy Sheriff, Beltrami County and Forrest Wipperling, Goodhue County Sheriff, appointed by Governor Carlson, shall serve on the advisory task force.
- 7. James Beard, Edina and Meg Jones, Columbia Heights, appointed by Governor Carlson, shall serve as public members on the advisory task force.
- 8. The following persons are appointed as members to the advisory task force:

John Stuart State Public Defender

Orville Pung Commissioner, Department of Corrections

Natalie Haas Steffen Commissioner, Department of Human Services

- 9. The advisory task force shall conduct a study of the juvenile justice system and make recommendations concerning the following:
  - (a) the juvenile certification process;
  - (b) the retention of juvenile delinquency adjudication records and their use in subsequent adult proceedings;
  - (c) the feasibility of a system of statewide juvenile guidelines;
  - (d) the effectiveness of various juvenile justice system approaches, including behavior modification and treatment; and
  - (5) the extension to juveniles of a nonwaivable right to counsel and a right to a jury trial.
- 10. Justice Gardebring shall convene the first meeting of the committee.
- 11. The advisory task force shall submit a written report to this Court, the governor and the legislature by December 1, 1993.

DATED: October 22, 1992

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

OCT 2 2 1992

offfed

OCL 5 5 1892

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

BY THE COURT:

u Keit Le

A.M. Keith Chief Justice